Life and Stuff

Ramadan Diaries: Day 6

I don’t think I really need to go into detail about the heatwave in Karachi, turn on any news channel or see on any social media online, you will get the facts and numbers and the gut wrenching death count. The city has to face yet another test to it’s faith, and resources, in this holy month.

Basically that’s what’s been on my mind today, and I’m not going to sugar coat it or put fancy words to it. The question remains, what can we do?

Those in Karachi are doing what they can, providing first aid, distributing water. One should know the basic first aid for heat stroke; now’s as good a time as any to brush up:

IMG_20150624_001441

IMG_20150624_001449

I’ll be very honest, this is yet another crisis in which I’ve felt helpless at being unable to do anything directly.

Well, first of all, we can donate. Here’s a link I found floating about on Twitter, I hope the effort is working:
http://www.gofundme.com/xn6z34

Secondly and just as importantly, what we can do, or at least what I choose to do is pray. Yet another blow has been struck to this nation, another jolt to our senses to remind us to work together for the better. May Allah help our country fellows through this difficult time, and ease their suffering. Aameen.

And We will surely test you with something of fear and hunger and a loss of wealth and lives and fruits, but give good tidings to the patient,

Who, when disaster strikes them, say, “Indeed we belong to Allah , and indeed to Him we will return.”

Those are the ones upon whom are blessings from their Lord and mercy. And it is those who are the [rightly] guided.

(2:155-157)

فَإِنَّ مَعَ الْعُسْرِ يُسْرًا 

 Verily, with hardship comes ease.

(94:5)

3 thoughts on “Ramadan Diaries: Day 6

Leave a comment