Ramadan Diaries: Day 3 & 4

 

Greetings, folks. Our regular transmission was interrupted due to unforseen circumstances. Haha I wasn’t feeling very well last night, so I opted to sleep till sehri and hence was unable to do a post for Day 3.

I’ve reinstated my night owl habits now though, and am sitting with textbooks open before me, still in anticipation of productive study. There also happens to be a plate of pakoray in front of me, from this evening. I’m resisting the urge to wolf them down as I type.

Oddly enough my motivation for eating them is less hunger and more….stress? I’m not sure how many of you are familiar with the phenomenon, but ‘comfort eating’ with certainly be the death (or at least obesity) of me. Gah!

 

Which brings me to my thought of today. Anxiety.

 

For this I’m also going to (not so) sneakily share the link for one of my older posts, on a similar topic. *cough* HERE *cough*

For me, studies and exams are one of the biggest causes of anxiety, along with thoughts of the future, and the condition of our world on general. Look around you though, amd the causes are endless. Everyone has their own way of dealing with their stress and anxiety, be it taking time out to breathe, physical exertion, art, or one of the most important, in my opinion; prayer.

I realised the anxiety I feel in exam season, especially since being in med school, is a pretty common thing. Hey, nobody said the med life was going to be easy. Also, nobody said you had to go through it alone.

 

I came across this dua on tumblr that I used to have on my old phone (before it got stolen. Long story.) and that I have written on a piece of paper on my wall in exam season.

Hasbunallahi

I found it helpful, maybe some of you do too. Salam. 🙂

Author: emphadiate

Med student, chai lover, avid reader. Daydreamer extraordinaire. Slightly imbalanced.

One thought on “Ramadan Diaries: Day 3 & 4”

  1. So sweet and thought provoking. I always get anxious about my upcoming mids even though I know I can deal with them Guess human nature.
    Keep on writing, Haadia. 😀

Leave a Reply

