Ramadan Diaries: Day Two.

 

Day One was rather alright, despite the heat and loadshedding! And not totally unproductive, thankfully. Here’s to hoping the rest of the days are like that (Insha’Allah). How did everyone else’s day go?

Today I was pondering on something that happened before Ramadan. Keeping with the theme of Rehmat or Mercy, my mind has been full of thoughts of hurt feelings, and hurt pride. Partially from personal experience and partially in general, I wanted to have some spiritual perspective on the matter.

 

When someone hurts your feelings or wounds your pride, you are angry. That anger, however expressed (or suppressed,  for that matter), is merely the icing on the cake of the underlying hurt, something which goes a lot deeper.

 

The question remains, how to get rid of the anger and hurt? The answer; Forgive.

 

Easier said than done.

 

One has to think, that if Allah can forgive us for some of the most heinous acts, is it not our duty to pardon our fellow man? Normally I’d agree and say, of course. Through the hurt veiled with anger, though, I can’t help but thinking why should I forgive someone for hurting me, when they’re far from remorse themselves? And so I forgive anyway.

 

You forgive to let go of the anger, because it will only be damaging to you. You forgive because you’re tired of feeling hurt, but no doubt it takes great strength to do so. Not only forgive the person, but pray for them too; for their guidance.

 

You absolutely have to forgive, in order to move on. Besides, when I look at the bigger picture, I think of all the forgiveness I myself have to ask for. In the grand scheme of things, giving a person forgiveness in this world would only be of benefit to us in the hereafter.

 
wpid-wp-14166548457461 

 

Again, I know I’m not saying anything new here, and all this is more of a reminder to myself than anyone else. It’s always helpful to get the things that are on my mind, out there in front of me. Salam. ❤

Author: emphadiate

Med student, chai lover, avid reader. Daydreamer extraordinaire. Slightly imbalanced.

3 thoughts on “Ramadan Diaries: Day Two.”

Leave a Reply

