The Ten Books Challenge Thingy

So. I was tagged in the Ten Books Challenge thingy, which has been going around on Facebook. I decided I’d share them here too!

I have to list ten books that have touched me in any way or have stayed with me. And of course I had to tell you WHY. So, in no particular order, here goes:

 

1. The Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling. Let me just get that out of the way, first of all. For far too many reasons. It’s become a medium of communication more than anything, really, and to identify and relate to others with. p.s. I’m *apparently* a Ravenclaw.

2. The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien. I LOVED the LOTR books too, but this one has a sort of quaint charm about it. Every time I’ve read it, I’ve noticed something clever in the writing that I hadn’t before.

3. Matilda, Danny The Champion Of The World, or The Minpins by Roald Dahl.
Or *anything* by Roald Dahl, really. He made me believe in magic and made me fall in love with  words, like no other writer has been able to since. Oh! And Boy and Going Solo, his autobiographies. Must must MUST read. (:

4. The Famous Five series by Enid Blyton. The impeccable manners and comraderie left a lasting impression :p , not to mention the freedom they had (which I was forever envious of). I also like the way Blyton described the food being eaten.  It brings back memories of afternoons at Nano’s, reading with the light from the minute parting in the curtains.

5. The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath. Not the happiest of books, but one of the most quotable that I have come across. I admire Plath’s writing, rather than the “storyline”, for reasons I could ramble about endlessly.

6. Little Women by Louisa M. Alcott. It might be slow and old fashioned, but most definitely the “chick-lit” of its time, as well as of my childhood. And Oh how I desperately wanted to be like Jo!

7. The Forty Rules Of Love by Elif Shafak. I was skeptical, after seeing the hype, but completely won over when I read it for myself. It, for me, injected a bit of spiritual self-reflection back into modern life, without (for the most part) the element of cultural appropriation.

8. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. Having always enjoyed World War fiction, this one most definitely tops the list. I was drawn in by the first pages, and drawn to tears towards the last few. Simply beautiful.

9. Hamlet by William Shakespeare. Though it’s a play, we studied it as a text. Another reason for me to love the English language and enjoy the intricacies of its literature. Also, I feel Hamlet’s morbid obsessions reflect some of my own.

10. The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe by C. S. Lewis. Another childhood favourite. I suppose fantasy is proving to be a preference with me. Magic and otherworldly creatures and adventure were the forming elements of my childhood. What more could any little girl ask for!

Author: emphadiate

Med student, chai lover, avid reader. Daydreamer extraordinaire. Slightly imbalanced.

2 thoughts on “The Ten Books Challenge Thingy”

    1. Lol I don’t really have an answer to that, other than ” Because I felt like it”.

      That, and the fact that not everyone who follows my blog has access to my Facebook account (and vice versa). 😀

Leave a Reply

