Awkward Moment #472

I was 11 years old. She was my Nano’s close friend.

The task set before me, though seemingly simple, was one the first of its kind I was entrusted to. I had been asked to bring the lemonade from the kitchen to the lounge, and to serve the guest.

Having successfully lifted the tray and advanced forward, I teetered into the lounge. The two ladies sat chatting, on the sofa before me. Smiling wide smiles and salaming salam’s, I continued forward. Little did I know, my feet had chosen that very moment for a collision.

WHOOP! CRASH! SPLASH!

My eyes tightly closed, I didn’t trust myself to breath for a  few second. Slowly rising up from the ground, I took in the spectacle before me.

A confounded lemonade sodden aunty, mouth agape, my grandmother with her lip bitten and an overturned (thankfully not broken) jug and glasses.

Needless to say, I was excused from kitchen duties for the near future.

Author: emphadiate

Med student, chai lover, avid reader. Daydreamer extraordinaire. Slightly imbalanced.

19 thoughts on “Awkward Moment #472”

  1. Oh Hadia, that musn’t have been your best life experience :/ im always really scared when it comes too carrying loaded trays!

  2. Never been the clumsy type, considering my otherwise bad luck. But THAT is an awkward moment indeed. Very well-written. Thumbs up!

  3. I would wanna know what was the collision against..

    According to you, you’re slightly imbalanced. You probably lost control of your feet trying to gain that little bit to balance.

    poor you!

Leave a Reply

